Uptown Gallery Workshop; Judging @ GSE, VMRC


My daughter, now studying illustration, used to complain that I judged things to harshly. Well, that is what she said as a teenager anyway.  As an art instructor, I always tried to think about the balance between challenging and encouraging my students, between being really humane while being completely honest.

Well this spring, while I was sending some of my work out for being judged for shows around the country …. I was judging again … this time for the North Carolina Governor’s School VISUAL Art auditions and the VMRC show in Virginia. Turn about is fair play.

And it helped that I was getting outside both my studio and my regular classroom settings too.  I had the pleasure of teaching a workshop at an artist’s co-op.  Great students, and so much fun to work with too. Nothing like seeing other folks play/experiment  with your ideas and techniques to stoke the engines of creative desire!

Above & below are some of their collage work.  An exciting spring indeed!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

