Exhibition of Sketches open, Reception today!


Sometimes little things are really quite important. Certainly the smallest thing can be extremely satisfying.

I have a new show opening today in Charlottesville, Virginia at Angelo (on the downtown pedestrian mall). It is a wonderful small venue. The show itself is also small, just 14 pieces. All the work is quite small too!

After my big shows of really BIG drawings earlier this winter, it is really a nice treat to put up these smaller, more intimately scaled pieces.

Hancock_ad_web

And these works are interesting and exciting to me precisely because they are more personal, intimate, and quick in terms of the art making. All of them are landscape sketches, most started and finished in one session … with the simplest of materials. There are a few that are almost panoramic in vision despite their very small scale.  A few are really close-ups of landscape details. Most of them though are fairly typical landscape images … at least they are typical to my eye.

The best ones are done very quickly and quite simply.  A few have a hint of Demuth or Marin (not so much Homer or Girtin this time) … and just maybe the quickness (if not the sublime quality) of a Turner watercolor.  The less successful ones may help me create better larger works but, of course, I don’t share those. They are now “working” sketches. You would have to come to my studio or one of my classes to see those.

The ones at Angelo for the next two months are, I think … pretty good.

If you are near Charlottesville sometime between May 1st and June 30th, please take a look and tell me if you agree.

(PS It would be wonderful to see you at the opening too … sometime between 5:00 and 7:30.)

 

Some things below this line may be advertisements; we know that even WordPress has to make a living. My apologies if it is something distracting or if it isn’t to your or my taste/liking.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Exhibition of Sketches open, Reception today!”

  1. Jean Sampson Says:

    It is a lovely show, John. You have made a lot of art in a little space! I love your smaller works—-more intimate! I will go back again! Hugs!

  2. mari french Says:

    wish I could go, alas I’m too far away. I love your sketches; I think so much immediate observation, passion and energy goes into sketching that they are often the most exciting of all an artists output. I feel that seeing another artists sketchbook or sketches is a privilege. Hope the show goes well!

    • johnahancock Says:

      Thank you Mari, The show looks good, many friends dropped by as the First Fridays musical and gallery events proceeded. Sold a little art too. Hope too have a wonderful day, week.. John

      On Sun, 4 May 2014 10:09:21 +0000, “John A Hancock’s Blog” wrote:

      > >

Leave a Reply

