Cooler Weather? Cool Open Studio!


I for one am hoping …

Back in late August we had some really beautiful fall-like days here in Virginia; then for several weeks in September it has felt as though summer has roared back in. I spent quite a bit of time outside making photos (lots!) as well as watercolor and pencil sketches (not enough) for my studio work.  I was seeing lots of colors changing out there … so I was quite excited that Autumn weather was on the horizon!

Aug. 2012, Studio 1, SMALLEST

As the change of season came upon us, I participated in an Open Studio Tour event for the first time ever. Well, sort of for the first time. Years ago, I had a studio at the McGuffey art center in Charlottesville, Va. It is a public co-op and we had open studio event every month as part of a First Friday art gallery walk.

But this was the first time I had folks coming to my home studio. The studio tour was sponsored by the local arts council/center (SVAC) and there were a number of studios here in the southern Shenandoah Valley that were open … a few, like mine, for the very first time. The event took place on September 19th and 20th (Saturday and Sunday) from 10 am to 5pm both days. We had some refreshments, new art, … and some fun. It was a good experience and it made me get the studio back in order after an odd little summer.

Next time we do this, I’ll be sure to broadcast the invites a bit further out, maybe a little more loudly … and early. Come visit!

SVAC_OST_poster_2015

As usual, I will be sure to put info on Facebook and on my website : JohnAHancock.com/exhibitions.html

The nights are getting chilly … even a bit nippy; some of the days have some warmth to them, and the light is fabulous!

Enjoy the last bit of the fall season!

Leave a Reply

